Medtner, 1905 Nikolai Karlovich Medtner

About the site

Nikolai Karlovich Medtner This website is an information resource for those interested in the Russian composer Nicolas Medtner (1880-1951).

The catalogue of works contains the following:

  • Composition and publication dates
  • Currently available editions
  • Discography, including LPs and 78s
  • For some works, variorum of editions
Publications include pdf scans of:
  • the English translation of The Muse and the Fashion
  • Drinker's English texts for the Songs of Nicholas Medtner
  • Richard Holt's booklets for the Medtner Society recordings
Downloads include:
  • Recordings by Medtner in 1946-50
  • 1950s recordings by Ginsburg, Flier, Petri, Sofronitsky, Oistrakh, Dolukhanova, Kazantseva, Shaposhnikov and Rozhdestvenskaya
Quick links
search tips advanced search
search engine by freefind

Comments, corrections and content are welcome. Please contact:

Oxfordshire, England

Updated 7 November 2018

  • Oct 22: UK events updated
  • Sept 19: Recent Releases updated
  • Aug 11: News and Dissertations updated
  • June 20: Dissertations updated
  • June 12: Forthcoming recordings updated
  • June 1: Updated editions and distributor pages linked from Works
  • May 30: Recent releases updated
  • May 20: UK and International events updated
  • May 8: Forthcoming recordings updated
  • Apr 3: Outline programme announced for Berlin Medtner Festival – see News
  • Mar 28: Recent releases and Forthcoming recordings updated
  • Mar 4: Publications updated
  • Feb 26: Discography updated
  • Jan 30: Recent releases updated
  • Feb 19: UK events updated
  • Feb 13: Discography updated with new op 51/3

visits since 5 August 2006